Leadership Team

Scientific Advisory Board

Daniel Meruelo, Ph.D.

Member, Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Daniel Meruelo, Ph.D. is the Chair of Cynvec’s Scientific Advisory Board. Dr. Meruelo, is a Professor in the Experimental Pathology Department, and the Director of New York University’s Gene Therapy Center. Dr. Meruelo received his Ph.D. in Biochemistry/Immunology from John Hopkins University in 1974, and was a Postdoctoral Fellow in Immunogenetics at Stanford University. Dr. Meruelo has received funding from the Company and has received various grants from the National Institutes of Health and others to fund his research efforts on Sindbis viral vectors. He has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles in leading medical and research journals.

Kenneth J. Gorelick, M.D.

Member, Scientific Advisory Board and Clinical Trials Consultant

Kenneth J. Gorelick has more than 25 years' experience in drug and biotechnology development, in multiple therapeutic areas, including oncologic, anti-infective, anti-viral, biodefense, hematology, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, urologic, and critical care drugs. Dr. Gorelick has been President and CEO of Zymo Consulting Group LLC, which provides pharmaceutical, clinical development, regulatory, strategic and due diligence consulting services to the BioPharma and venture communities, since 2010. He consults to Pfizer as Clinical Lead of a global development program. He has also been a Venture Partner at NGN Capital (since 2004) and the Chief Development Officer of PIN Pharma, where he is responsible for drug development activity of novel immunostimulatory anti-cancer agents (since May 2012). Among other positions, he served as President and CEO of Enzybiotics Inc. from 2002 to 2009, a consultant at Wyeth Research from 2000 to 2009, Senior Vice President & CMO of PharmaPrint from 1998 to 2000, Vice President, Global Clinical R&D, at DuPont Merck and DuPont Pharmaceuticals from 1996 to 1998, Chief Medical Officer and Vice President Drug Development at Genelabs Technologies, Inc. from 1991 to 1996 and Director, Clinical Research, at XOMA from 1987 to 1991. Dr. Gorelick earned a B.S. in Biochemistry from SUNY Buffalo and an M.D. from Cornell University Medical College. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine at St. Louis University and a Fellowship in Pulmonary Disease at Stanford University where he served as Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine until 2000. He is a Fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians.

Steven Larsen, M.D.

Member, Scientific Advisory Board

Steven Larsen, M.D. is a nuclear medicine physician at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Hospital whose clinical interests focus on the use of positron emission tomography (PET) for diagnostic and molecular imaging. In addition to being Chief of the Nuclear Medicine Service, he is the Director of the Laurent and Alberta Gerschel Positron Emission Tomography Center and Head of the Nuclear Medicine Research Laboratory. He is also a member of the Executive Council for the Molecular Pharmacology and Therapeutics Program of the Sloan-Kettering Institute. My research interests involve PET and targeted therapy in oncology. Sponsored by the US Department of Energy and in collaboration with Radiochemistry/Cyclotron CORE leader Dr. Ronald Finn, Dr. Larsen led an effort to develop novel radiopharmaceuticals for implementation in research in both animals and humans. During the last ten years, this effort has resulted in the introduction of more than 40 new radionuclides and compounds for implementation in animal research at MSKCC. Dr. Larsen has served as chairman of the Radioactive Drug Advisory Committee of the Food and Drug Administration and was part of a team that developed the 21CFR361.1 Radioactive Drug Research Committee regulations. Dr. Larsen has received a number of awards in nuclear medicine, including the Hevesy Award from both the Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM) and the European Society of Nuclear Medicine, the Pendergrass Award and the Radiologic Researcher of the Year Award from the Radiological Society of North America, and the Wagner Lecture Award from SNM. He has also received the Wiley Medal from the FDA, for distinguished service. Dr. Larsen received his MD from the University of Washington School of Medicine (Seattle). He held residencies at Virginia Mason Hospital (Seattle) and a fellowship at the NIH. Dr. Larsen is board certified in Nuclear Medicine and Internal Medicine.

Back to top

Sindbis Virus